Tag Archive: Dvořák

Marvellous Music for March

Click the image above to download a PDF poster, or click here to download a black and white flier.

It may still be winter, but spring is just around the corner, and what better way to celebrate the first weekend of the season than with an Isle of Wight Symphony Orchestra concert?

Music on Saturday the 21st of March will be provided courtesty of Tchaikovsky – Excerpts from Eugene Onegin, Grieg – Two Elegiac Melodies, Ibert’s Flute Concerto, Holst’s Egdon Heath and Dvořák’s Symphonic Variations. The Ibert Flute Concerto will feature as soloist the orchestra’s very own Siobhan Cosgrove.

If you would like to help spread the word about what will be a great evening’s entertainment, please download and distribute a poster or flier from this article.

Shana Douglas with violin

Shana Douglas with violin

Following their recent very successful concert, the Isle of Wight Symphony Orchestra are back rehearsing for their next performance.

The Orchestra will next take to the stage of the Medina Theatre on the evening of 24th May. At this concert (starting at 7.15pm) the Orchestra will be welcoming Shana Douglas as their soloist in a performance of Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto.

This young star was born in the USA, but now resides in the UK. Having graduated from Philadelphia’s Curtis Institute of Music in 2006, Shana crossed the pond to continue her studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London.

Shana is a very experienced soloist having appeared with well known orchestras both here and in America.

In the UK she has performed with such orchestras as the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra and the English Chamber Orchestra. Nearer to the Island, she has also appeared with the Bournmouth Symphony Orchestra.

The violin concerto will end the first half of the concert. The concert will start with two rarely performed English pieces. The Bamboula by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor will open the concert. This work is based on a Caribbean dance tune, and is a party piece for the whole orchestra. The second work is purely for strings and is a Ballad composed by Eric Coates (he of the Dam Buster’s March fame). Although not published in his lifetime, it is a work he was very pleased with.

The second half of the concert will contain just the one work, the wonderful melodic and lyrical 7th Symphony by Dvorak. This is truly a wonderful piece and a fitting conclusion to the concert.

Tickets are already on sale, and not surprisingly given the reputation of the orchestra, the variety of the programme and the talent of the soloist, over half the tickets have already been sold.

To book your ticket contact the Medina Theatre box office on 01983 527020 or via their website www.medinatheatre.co.uk

Download the poster

Whilst it seems a little way off yet, the 19th of November is the date of the first concert in the Isle of Wight Symphony Orchestra’s 2011-2012 Season. If you’d like to help spread the word about the performance please download and print a copy of the poster!

The concert includes works by MacCunn, Shostakovich and Dvořák – the latter’s Violin Concerto featuring soloist Eloisa-Fleur Thom.